top of page
Search

Issue 38: Dr. Taunya Wideman-Johnston - Social Scientist, Speaker/Advocte, & Co-Author

Dr. Taunya Wideman-Johnston is committed to reframing disabilities, it has taken her years of unlearning with her own chronic illness to reframe disability in her life and in the work she does. In this feature, Taunya shares with us a glimpse about how she came this renewed understanding of disability in her life and work.

Like many individuals, I was ingrained with ableist ideologies and I viewed optimal health as superior. When I started experiencing health issues, I carried these misrepresentations of life with a chronic illness and disability with me for a long time. I had internalized many ableist notions and I was surrounded by ableist views. I know now that these deficit based understandings of illness and disability are both inaccurate and harmful.


As I continued to live with a rare chronic gastrointestinal illness and ileostomy my perspective began to change. I started to value the experiences I was having—I appreciated and loved the person I was. I didn’t see myself as an individual who couldn’t do things, or an individual who was sick, or unhealthy, or weak, or disabled. I viewed myself as capable, healthy, and strong. Not only did I view myself in this lens but I continued to aspire to live the life that I dreamed of. I

continued to move forward and reveal my capacities, and yet, I still encountered stigma and inequities as an individual with a disability. It is from these continued injustices that I will strive to do everything I can to work towards helping pose disability in an alternate light.


Bringing me to the present moment, I have now been living with a chronic illness and disability for 20 years. Over this time, I have learned and grown in how I view chronic illness and disability. I have reframed my understanding of chronic illness from a strength based perspective. Reframing disability is important because as human beings we are all equal and worthy of our needs being met. Reframing disability makes space for individuals with disabilities to be viewed by their capacities. As a person with a disability, I know that there is so much that I

have to offer.


There are 3 simple ways we can all reframe disability. This is how you can reframe disability in your life:

  • View individuals as whole beings. Recognize that individuals are the sum of their interconnected parts. We value that individuals with disabilities are more than their disabilities.

  • Change the language we use to describe disabilities. Refrain from using deficit based words to describe disabilities. We believe people with disabilities are vibrant human beings full of life.

  • Advocate for the stories of people with disabilities to be shared. Make space in our lives for people with disabilities to share their stories. We listen to the stories people with disabilities share, we ask questions, and we make changes.


Living with a chronic illness and disability has given me the opportunities to be an advocate, speaker, and social scientist. Here is how I am making an impact:

  • I am inspiring change by living my life and showing how people with disabilities are able to pursue and achieve their personal and professional aspirations.

  • I am using my voice and sharing my experiences through writing. I am devoted to inspiring individuals to shift their perspective in how they view disability to a strength based lens.

  • I am a social scientist, and believe in the power of education to inspire change and increase awareness. I am actively involved in research in both the field of education and disability studies to learn more about the lived experiences of individuals with chronic illness and how disability can continue to be reframed.


Thank you for taking the time to learn more about reframing disability. I hope you will continue to think about ways that you can reframe disability in your own life and in the lives of others.


If you are interested in learning more about me and the work I do you can:

  • Check out my books, “The Extraordinary Gifts: My Life with a Chronic Illness” and “The Critical Friendship Revolution: Leading Ethical Practice Through Authentic Relationships”

  • Find me on instagram @drtaunyawjohnston https://www.instagram.com/drtaunyawjohnston

  • Learn more about me on my website www.drtaunya.com

Are you someone who is a positive change-maker? Have a story to tell? Passionate about a particular issue? Contact The REAL Resilient Michayla Del Guidice for more information:


Michayla Del Guidice | PhD Student, RSSW


Work with me in 2023 - Email: resiliencyspeaks@gmail.com

Instagram: @realresiliency

Facebook: Michayla - Miss Voluptuous Canada Central

TikTok: @therealresilient

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Letter to my Younger Self

Dear Little M, Life has been a never ending rollercoaster for you, I know you have always felt like you were never good enough or do not...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page